With the spring sports season in the rear view, the Parsons Vikings and Labette County Grizzlies saw baseball and softball players earn All-SEK League honors for the 2019 season.

For the Parsons Vikings baseball team, which finished 3-11 this spring, four players were named to the all-league team. 

Joel Schibi, a Labette commit, was named to the First Team. The middle infielder and pitcher hit .265 with nine runs scored and four RBI. As a pitcher, Schibi appeared in six games and maintained a 4.67 ERA.

“Joel has been a four-year starter that’s never missed a baseball game,” Parsons head coach Gerald Beardmore said. “He was an impact player when he came into the program and I expect the same when he goes to Labette.” 

Luke Wolgamott, a Neosho County commit, was another First Team selection. The star first baseman was also selected to Kansas Association of Baseball Coaches All-Star Game in Lawrence on Wednesday.

“It’s a pretty neat honor,” Beardmore said. “I can’t remember the last time a Parsons kid played in that game. He didn’t have the same year he did as a junior, but it was still a great year. He had a good batting average with a lot of walks. He had a great year and a great career.” 

Wolgamott, who earned his selection to the KABC All-Star Game after being named to the KABC All-State 4A Team as a designated hitter, led the Vikings with a .444 average and 10 runs with nine RBI and one home run.

“We went up to KU the last couple of years and watched some games,” Beardmore said. “For him to go up there and play with a bunch of guys, it’s a neat honor. It’s something he’s worked hard for and it’s a big honor.” 

Nolan Proehl of Parsons was named to the All-SEK Second Team.

Offensively, Proehl hit .302 with eight runs and seven RBI. On the mound, Proehl made seven appearances and earned one save. 

“He came into the program his sophomore year and has been a grinder,” Beardmore said. “He was such an asset to Parsons. He comes from a great family. He played multiple positions for us.” 

Wrapping up Parsons’ baseball selections, catcher Connor Eichinger was selected to the Second Team. 

The senior behind the dish hit .382 with one home run and a team-best 14 RBI.

“Connor was probably the most valuable player we had this year catching 14 innings a night,” Beardmore said. “Every foul ball seemed to hit him where he wasn’t covered up, but he always got out there. He had a great year and is a great kid.” 

Labette County baseball, which finished with a 1-18 record, saw Kooper Peak earn First Team All-SEK honors.

As for Parsons softball, which finished with an 0-19 record, had third baseman Breanna Bedore earn First Team honors.

Bedore hit .219 on the season with a team-high four RBI. 

“I really felt like her bat is what gave her that foot forward for us,” Parsons head coach Caleb Reid said. “Defensively, she was pretty sharp at third all season long. In a leadership position like she was, it felt right to give her that opportunity.” 

As for Labette County softball, which finished with a 6-13 overall record, Keeley Daniels earned First Team recognition.

Daniels hit .481 with five doubles and 16 RBI with 14 runs. 

Jaidyn Leech earned Second Team honors, hitting .544 with 13 RBI and 19 runs and five doubles, while Abby Ryan also earned Second Team with a .364 average and nine RBI with 16 runs. 




First Team

Gavin Haines, Independence

Ryan Leiker, Independence

Joel Schibi, Parsons

Luke Wolgamott, Parsons

Mason Manbeck, Chanute

Corbett Kimberlin, Chanute

Trenton Austin, Pittsburg

Dylan White, Pittsburg

Ben Boekhout, Pittsburg

Caden Bressler, Pittsburg

Kooper Peak, Labette County

Brody Bowles, Fort Scott

Ty Gorman, Fort Scott

Brady Masters, Fort Scott

Alex Michaud, Fort Scott,

Adam Rutherford, Coffeyville


Second Team

Landon Ewing, Independence

Brayden Coller, Independence

Nolan Proehl, Parsons

Connor Eichinger, Parsons

Kam Koester, Chanute

Lane Harvey, Chanute

Brett Wiemers, Pittsburg

Brody Arck, Pittsburg

Luke Bradbury, Fort Scott

Keenan Guilfoyle, Fort Scott

Nate Carter, Coffeyville





First Team

Emma Short, Independence

Morgan Mavers, Independence

Taylor Howland, Independence

Sydney Rinck, Independence

Breanna Bedore, Parsons

Zoe Pinamonti, Pittsburg

Jata Beckley, Pittsburg

Taylor Thompson, Chanute

Rachel Jackett, Chanute

Keeley Daniels, Labette County

Mia Bryant, Fort Scott

Addison Oberley, Fort Scott

Kenady Poyner, Fort Scott

MahKenzie Mecom, Coffeyville


Second Team

Katy Chapman, Independence

Kaylee Thorpe, Independence

Shannon O’Hara, Pittsburg

Mallory McThompson, Pittsburg

Sophi Emling, Chanute

Kori Babcock, Chanute

Jaidyn Leech, Labette County

Abby Ryan, Labette County

Kiran Bailey, Fort Scott

Sami Bradbury, Fort Scott

Sydney Coons, Coffeyville

Recommended for you