Three Labette County Grizzlies earned All-SEK League honors for the 2021 football season.

Kendall Bebb earned First Team recognition as an offensive lineman. Cody Hambleton at linebacker and Griffin Eaton at wide receiver earned Second Team honors.

“They were all deserving,” Labette County head coach Sean Price said. “Every year I leave that meeting, I think I have 10 kids deserving. With the injuries and what we had to face this year, it’s hard to complain about getting three.” 

While Bebb was an All-SEK honoree as an offensive lineman, he registered nine tackles including three for a loss on defense.

“He never once complained,” Price said. “He’d come off the sideline in tears if we were going to take it out. He wouldn’t do it.” 

Hambleton tallied 34 tackles, including two for loss, as well as two interceptions for the Grizzlies.

“He got hurt in Week 7 and we were really snakebitten without him,” Price said. 

As for Eaton, he led Labette County with 55 catches for 565 yards.

“The 55 catches were a school record for us,” Price said. “He got so beat up early in the year. But he really loved it.” 

Labette County went 0-9 in the season, a difficult year for the Grizzlies.

“I’m proud of all of our kids,” Price said. “Our seniors gave us good leadership and they’re great kids. But I’m excited about the young kids and their future.” 

Chanute, which won the SEK League and advanced to the second round of the KSHSAA 4A playoffs, led the league with 18 All-SEK selections.

Chanute’s Kolten Lacrone was the league’s defensive MVP, while Ty Leedy of Chanute was the offensive MVP. 


2021 All-SEK League Football

First Team

QB, Eric Erbe, Chanute

RB, Ty Leedy, Chanute

RB, Camdon Julian, Independence

WR, Kam Koester, Chanute

WR, Kaiden Seamster, Chanute

WR, Hayden Smith, Independence

OL, Kolten Lacrone, Chanute

OL, Nathan Cunningham, Chanute

OL, Augustus Thuston, Chanute

OL, Sir Grant, Independence

OL, Kainen White, Coffeyville

OL, Kendall Bebb, Labette County

AP, Cooper Smith, Independence

P, Ryan Leiker, Independence

DL, Kolten Lacrone, Chanute

DL, Dagen Dean, Chanute

DL, Kainen White, Coffeyville

DL, Wyatt Shaffer, Independence

LB, Ty Leedy, Chanute

LB, Cedric Emling, Chanute

LB, Dalton Jones, Independence

DB, Kam Koester, Chanute

DB, Brecken Bertie, Independence

DB, Shan Williams, Chanute

DB, Canyon Umphenour, Fort Scott

K, Davis Merrick, Independence


Second Team

QB, Ryan Leiker, Independence

RB, Cade Gulager, Fort Scott

WR, Griffin Eaton, Labette County

WR, Dagen Dean, Chanute

WR, Parker Allen, Fort Scott

OL, Tuker Davis, Chanute

OL, Remington Easely, Independence

DL, Dylan Treloggen, Chanute

DL, Dominic. Bishop, Fort Scott

LB, Cooper Smith, Independence

LB, Ethan Viets, Coffeyville

LB, Cody Hambleton, Labette County

DB, Aaron Tunstall, Coffeyville

DB, Kaiden Semster, Chanute

DB, Camdon Julian, Independence

K, Caleb Becannon, Chanute

Recommended for you