Labette softball saw four of its players earn All-Kansas Jayhawk Conference honors on Wednesday, headlined by First Team selection Audrey Miller.

In addition to Miller, third baseman Julia Hawkins and pitcher Haylee Van Deventer earned Second Team recognition, while Payton Nigh was an honorable mention selection.

Miller, a freshman catcher from Tonganoxie, has been Labette’s best bat this spring as she leads the Cardinals in batting average (.424), home runs (11), RBI (41), extra base hits (22) and slugging percentage (.776). Defensively, Miller has caught 15 runners from behind the plate out of 38 attempts.

Hawkins, a freshman out of Eufala, Oklahoma, is third on Labette’s roster in batting average (.315). She’s also second in RBI (23) and extra base hits (14) and is the only Cardinals batter with multiple triples (2). 

As for Van Deventer, the sophomore pitcher out of Pawnee, Oklahoma has thrown a team-high 104.1 innings with a team-best 82 strikeouts while maintaining a 3.29 ERA.

Finally for Nigh, a sophomore shortstop from Kansas City, she’s second on the Labette roster in batting average (.328) while 20 RBI and nine extra base hits. 

Cowley’s Ashton Friend was named the KJCCC Division II Most Valuable Player, Hesston’s Chelsea Smith was the Freshman of the Year and Andrew Sharp of Hesston was the Coach of the Year.

Highland had the most First Team selections with four, while Johnson County led in total selections with nine — six of which were honorable mentions.

The Cardinals head to Topeka for the next round of the NJCAA Region VI Tournament on Saturday. Labette will face Cowley in the first round of the four-team, double elimination District E bracket at noon.





MVP: Ashton Friend, Cowley

Freshman of the Year: Chelsea Smith, Hesston

Coach of the Year: Andrew Sharp, Hesston


First Team

1B, Alexis Hodapp, So., Highland

2B, Bella Konieczka, Fr., Highland

SS, Haleigh Scott, So., Cowley

3B, Chevelle Sartin, Fr., Highland

UT, Christian Wind, Fr., Cowley

OF, Ashton Friend, So., Cowley

OF, Hannah Schmidt, Fr. Highland

OF, Macie Cervantes, Fr. Allen

C, Audrey Miller, Fr., Labette

P, Chelsea Smith, Fr., Hesston

P, Kerrigan Dixon, So., Johnson County

P, Kaelee Escoe, So., Neosho County


Second Team

1B, Kinsley Stewart, So., Neosho County

2B, Trey Burkhardt, So., Johnson County

SS, Jessie Miranda, Fr., Hesston

SS, Hannah Redick, Fr., Kansas City Kansas

3B, Kaylen Lassley, So., Hesston

3B, Julia Hawkins, Fr., Labette

UT, Amy Bretado, Fr., Hesston

OF, Devin Purcell, Fr., Kansas City Kansas

OF, Alyssa Wesley, So., Highland

OF, Lexi Avalos, So., Hesston

C, Kerry Murphy, So., Johnson County

C, Skylar Darnell, Fr., Cowley

P, Haylee Van Deventer, So., Labette

P, Bailey Lacy, Fr., Highland


Honorable Mention

Madisyn Thompson, Fr., Allen

Meg Kirk, Fr., Allen

Kalyn Stigall, Fr., Cowley

Taylor Hinnenkamp, So., Cowley

Paige Bittle, Fr., Hesston

Kami Zimmerman, So., Highland

Cassidy Geer, So., Highland

Kelsy Orender, So., Johnson County

Jordyn Clough, So., Johnson County

Dezman Duncan, Fr., Johnson County

Emily Fox, Fr., Johnson County

Ivy Brewer, Fr., Johnson County

Megan Weigel, Fr., Johnson County

Payton Nigh, So., Labette

Sierra Spurlock, So., Neosho County

Alyssa Rogers, Fr., Neosho County

Recommended for you