Three Indians, two from St. Paul and one from Oswego, were selected to participate in the 2020 8-Man All-Star Game in Beloit this summer.

Shrine Bowl invitee Adam Albertini, along with St. Paul teammate Easton Dent, were the two selections from St. Paul. Oswego got running back Jace Wilson onto the roster.

“The 8-Man All-Star Game is a great honor,” St. Paul head coach Keith Wiatrak said. “It’s great for our school to be represented by Adam and Easton. I go out to the meeting every year. It’s a shame for the coaches that don’t go to it to stick up for their kid.” 

Albertini helped St. Paul finish the regular season undefeated, earn its fourth straight berth into the quarterfinals of the playoffs and was one of the most prolific offensive players in the state.

In his senior campaign, the tailback tallied 1,764 rushing yards on 135 carries with 38 touchdowns — a 13-yards-per-carry average while scoring a touchdown every 3.5 touches. 

As a quarterback, Albertini threw for 402 yards and five touchdowns. He added seven punt return touchdowns, three kick return scores, two interception returns to the house, a receiving touchdown and a fumble return to the end zone. 

In all, Albertini racked up 57 total touchdowns in 11 games. 

“He’s worked hard and deserves the accolades he’s getting,” Wiatrak said. “He’s put his name out there by going to camps and combines. He didn’t just hope somebody saw him. He did the legwork. Obviously he’s an outstanding talent, but he puts his name out there.” 

Dent, a star linebacker and running back for the St. Paul, racked up 865 rushing yards on 98 carries with 17 touchdowns. He also had eight catches for 71 yards and a touchdown as well as a kick return for a score in 2019.

“Easton was our primary vocal leader,” Wiatrak said. “He was our emotional leader. He’d get in somebody’s face. He’d always get the big hit. I didn’t have to politick to get him on the team.” 

Albertini and Dent’s selections mark the fourth year in a row, and fifth year over the last six that St. Paul has been represented in the 8-Man All-Star Game.

“It’s easier to get kids on all-star teams whenever you’re winning,” Wiatrak said. “So in reality, this is a team deal. When you go 10-1, that puts you in the best position.” 

As for Wilson of Oswego, he helped guide his team to a 6-3 record and a second-straight winning season.

Wilson is the first-ever 8-Man All-Star Game selection for Oswego, which just made the jump down to 8-Man over the last two seasons.

“It’s a great honor for Jace individually,” Oswego head coach Matt Fowler said. “He’s played a lot of football for Oswego over the last four years. He’s done a lot for us. It’ll be a great week for him to be able to participate in a game like that.” 

Wilson was a jack of all trades for Oswego, tallying 1,094 rushing yards, 202 passing yards and 89 receiving yards with 26 total touchdowns.

On defense, Wilson amassed a team-high 78 tackles with two sacks and five interceptions.

“It’s exciting for our school and our program,” Fowler said. “It’s great to having someone representing you. We’re only two years into being 8-Man so that’s a great thing.” 

Fowler hopes Wilson’s nomination will be another springboard for his program.

“It gives us something positive in the offseason,” Fowler said. “When Jace goes through and has his experience, he’ll come back and tell all our guys about it. That opens up a lot of doors for our players. It’ll be great to have an Oswego Indian helmet out there.” 

The 2020 8-Man All Star Game will be held on June 13 in Beloit.





Mason Miller, Argonia-Attica

Javon Allen, Bennington

Marshall Ward, Caldwell

Landon Everett, Canton Galva

Nick Pearson, Canton Galva

Jay Nightingale, Canton Galva

Colton Potter, Cedar Vale-Dexter

Cael Budke, Chase County

Sebastian Bolinger, Madison

Colton Fife, Madison

Nasun Wasson, Madison

Nate Burdette, Maranatha

Brock West, Maranatha

Carson Leibst, Medicine Lodge

Jace Wilson, Oswego

Tayte Halderman, Sedan

Brock Nelson, Solomon

Cayde Snyder, South Central

Gage Girk, South Central

Nic Moreno, West Elk

Coaches: Alex McMillian, Madison; Bryan Burdette, Maranatha; Shelby Hoppes, Canton Galva



Jerrod Bieberle, Central Plains

Harley Blake, Macksville

Brandon Boyles, Kiowa County

Aaron Castillo, Wichita County

Brady Dinkel, St. Francis

Dillon Dunn, WaKeeney-Trego

Nate Gabel, Ness City

Colton Gatton, Pratt Skyline

Brady Helms, Moundridge

Kirk Heuser, Victoria

Dalen Journigan, Hill City

Hunter Price, WaKeeney-Trego

Carson Rich, Spearville

Hector Rodriguez, Ness City

Eli Temanson, Pratt Skyline

Adam Thiessen, South Gray

Eli Salmans, Hodgeman County

Brayden Sears, Little River

Dylan Weimer, Hoxie

Wylie Weems, Hoxie

Coaches: Lance Baar, Hoxie; Brandt Douglas, Wichita County; Pat Haxton, Trego Community




Quinn Buessing, Axtell

JJ Hart, Axtell

Derek Buessing, Axtell

Alex Ketter, St. John’s-Tipton

Wyatt Darnell, St. John’s-Tipton

Jensen Riffel, Centre

Dalton Stika, Centre

Garret Dalinghaus, Frankfort

Brian Joseph, Frankfort

Teagan Schwartz, Hanover

Jonah Weber, Hanover

Tanner Link, Hanover

Tyler Ohlde, Linn

Ethan Powell, Onaga

Adam Albertini, St. Paul

Easton Dent, St. Paul

Christian Decker, Waverly

Koby Vanderpool, Marais des Cygnes Valley

Jack Krueger, Wakefield

Rylee Whelchel, Rock Hills

Coaches: Eric Detwiler, Axtell; Perry Smith, Doniphan West; Colby Hamel, Rock Hills



Houston Friend, Satanta

Caleb Lambert, Hutchinson Central Christian

Garett Burns, Hutchinson Central Christian

Adam Hall, Hutchinson Central Christian

Trevor Rooks, South Barber

Zane Lyons, South Barber

Tuck Lang, Minneola

Sebastian Colbert, Minneola

Steele Wolters, Osborne

Darien Holloway, Osborne

Connor Goheen, Osborne

Reece Struckoff, Thunder Ridge

Joe Ferguson, Thunder Ridge

Ethan Poe, Norwich

Timothy Gillen, Ingalls

Antonio Esobedo, Ingalls

Beau Batchman, Sylvan-Lucas

Kilby Meyer, Sylvan-Lucas

Seth Hoopingarner, Otis-Bison

Bevan Gradig, Otis-Bison

Coaches: Lee Smith, Hutchinson Central Christian; Ben Labertew, Sylvan-Lucas; Reigo Hahn, Minneola

Recommended for you