Parsons wide receiver Dariq Williams, St. Paul running back Adam Albertini and Erie lineman Caype Johnston have a gridiron date this summer as they were among the East selections to the 2020 Shrine Bowl in Topeka. 

The Shrine Bowl announced its selections on Saturday during a selection show broadcast online.

For Williams, who was also a Class 3A KFBCA All-State selection, he was a bright spot on a team that struggled in the win-loss column.

The senior wideout hauled in a team-high 47 catches for 658 yards and 10 touchdowns.

“It’s great for Dariq,” Parsons head coach Kurt Friess said. “He’s worthy of the honor. He’s one of the greatest Viking athletes of all time. For him to go to the Shrine Bowl, I hope it means as much to him as it does to me.” 

Williams’ Shrine Bowl moment came in Week 1, where he caught five touchdowns in a five-overtime win over Iola.

“I think the bigger the moment, the better the player he is,” Friess said. “He’s called ‘The Freak’ for a reason. People sometimes get blinded by his athleticism and they never see his competitiveness. That’s why I’m so happy for him. He has a desire to make plays.” 

Friess put some lofty expectations onto his star wide receiver when and if he makes the trip to Topeka.

“He always wants to be the most exciting player on the field,” Friess said. “If he plays in the Shrine Bowl, he’ll be the most exciting player on the field.” 

Albertini helped St. Paul finish the regular season undefeated, earn its fourth straight berth into the quarterfinals of the playoffs and was one of the most prolific offensive players in the state.

lbertini is also the third player from St. Paul to be selected to the Shrine Bowl in the past four seasons — Chandler Struthers (2017), Anthony Albertini (2018), Adam (2020). 

“It’s amazing,” St. Paul head coach Keith Wiatrak said. “We’ve had three kids in the last four years selected to the Shrine Bowl. That’s impressive for our football program.”

In his senior campaign, the tailback tallied 1,764 rushing yards on 135 carries with 38 touchdowns — a 13-yards-per-carry average while scoring a touchdown every 3.5 touches. 

As a quarterback, Albertini threw for 402 yards and five touchdowns. He added seven punt return touchdowns, three kick return scores, two interception returns to the house, a receiving touchdown and a fumble return to the end zone. 

In all, Albertini racked up 57 total touchdowns in 11 games. 

“Adam could’ve broken every record if I gave him the football as much as I wanted to,” Wiatrak said. “But we’re trying to build for the future and help our depth. Adam’s success is unbelievable for a career.” 

Caype Johnston, a 6-foot-3, 315 pound lineman out of Erie, also earned a Shrine Bowl nod for this summer. 

Johnston anchored a line for first-year Erie Red Devils head coach Eddie Kearns. The Red Devils finished the year 3-6.

“It’s great for the school to show that the hard work you put in can pay off in the end,” Kearns said. “That’s our philosophy from Day 1 here at Erie. We’ve got great kids here, so now we’re looking for some dividends down the road.” 

Kearns pointed to the fact that Johnston fought back from an early season injury to earn a spot in the state’s premier all-star game.

“He’s worked very hard,” Kearns said. “He was injured for three games because of a broken bone in his hand. So he really had to work hard when he got back. It was very painful for him but he worked hard.” 

The 2020 Shrine Bowl is scheduled for Saturday, July 18 at 7 p.m. at Washburn University in Topeka.




Adam Albertini | St. Paul

Luke Barger | De Soto

Hunter Boone | Prairie View

Ty Bowman | Chanute

Quinn Buessing | Axtell

Brian Burns | Bishope Miege

Jaylen Carter | Washburn Rural

Thomas Cook | Blue Valley West

Kody Davoren | Rossville

Gabe Garber | Sabetha

Jonathan Goetting | Colgan

Da'Vonshai Harden | Topeka High

Kordan Harris | Aquinas

Connor Hasz | Paola

Kamble Haverkamp | Centralia

Conor Haviland | Humboldt

Colby Hoelting | Olpe

Atreyau Hornbeak | Marysville

Isaiah Jackson | Gardner-Edgerton

Caype Johnston | Erie

Kyle Kelly | Mill Valley

Bryce Krone | Bonner Springs

Ty Lindenman | Shawnee Mission Northwest

Nate Matlack | Olathe East

Hayden Pauls | Emporia

Grant Roush | Perry-Lecompton

Kauli Saili | Jefferson West

Cole Sample | Tonganoxie

Andrew Schmidtlein | Hayden

Ethan Shawver | Riverton

Reid Spachman | Blue Valley North

Evan Taylor | Blue Valley

Ky Thomas | Topeka High

Bryce Uphaus | Nemaha Central

Carson Williams | Jackson Heights

Dariq Williams | Parsons


Xavier Bell | Andover Central

Hayden Brown | Hays

Jeremiah Brown | Wichita West

Jared Casey | Plainville

Refujio Chairez | Garden City

Preven Christon | Maize

Alex Conn | Derby

Brady Dinkel | St. Francis

Tyler Dorsey | Derby

Scotti Easter | Andale

Beau Foster | Dodge City

Jacob Fredrickson | Buhler

Ty Garrett | Salina South

Garrett Harmison | Riley County

Creighton Johnson | Beloit

Jackson Cavanaugh | Salina Central

Dawson Martin | Conway Springs

Kade Melvin | Norton Community

Dalton Miller | Great Bend

Trevion Mitchell | Maize South

Joel Montgomery | Smith Center

Carter Morrow | Goddard

Chance Omli | Goddard-Eisenhower

Hadley Panzer | Lakin

Wyatt Pedigo | Hoisington

Riley Petz | Cheney

Kale Schroeder | Sedgwick

Sam Shields | Manhattan

Phoenix Smith | Bishop Carroll

Calvin Stapp | Colby

Nolan Streit | Clearwater

Kel Stroud | Chapman

Cody Stufflebean | McPherson

Javon Wheeler | Wichita Northwest

Joe Williams III | Wichita North

Hunter Yager | Scott Community

Recommended for you