OSWEGO — A nurse practitioner in Chetopa and a retired railroader in Oswego won mayoral races in their respective cities.

Tammy Bushong won 140 votes to win Chetopa’s mayor seat. Charles Archer finished second with 95, Robert Kirkwood had 35 and Gary Bryant 24. 

In the Oswego mayor race, retired railroader Daniel Chapman won the seat with 170 votes. His challenger, Darren Tynan, currently on the council, got 110 votes.

There were six candidates for the three seats open on the Chetopa City Council. The two incumbents, Geraldine Castle and Linda Seaman, won reelection. The top vote-getter was challenger Juanita Kepner, who had 154 votes. Castle had 153 votes and Seaman had 148.

In the Oswego City Council race, there were no contested seats so John Davis, Brandy Grassl and Justin McKee won with 172, 229 and 212 votes, respectively.

In Mound Valley, six candidates competed for three seats on the council. The winners were Michael Baima, Jay Etter and Linda Killman, with 45, 45 and 33 votes, respectively. 

In Altamont, three candidates filed for the three open seats. They are Craig Carnahan (146), Benjamin Cochran (139) and Raymond Coffey (90).

In Bartlett, no candidates were listed on the ballot, but five slots had votes, so the write-ins will take the seats. Labette City had four candidates for the five seats on the council, Doris Haney, Cruz Smith, James Smith and Karen Smith. For write-in votes were tallied.

Recommended for you