ALTAMONT — USD 506 administration thanked Dennis Wilson for his support of public education as a teacher, principal, superintendent and most recently as a Board of Education member.

The board accepted Wilson’s resignation from the board during Monday’s meeting.

“Wilson was an asset to the school district and will be greatly missed by the USD 506 family,” district administration said in a written statement.

The board will seek a suitable replacement for Wilson, who represented District 1, Position 4. Any patron who resides in this member district may submit an application to the clerk of the Board of Education, Cindy Dean, 401 S. High School St., Altamont. Applications will be accepted in person until 4 p.m. July 26.

In other business, the board tended to routine business to start off the new fiscal year.

The first point of business was election of officers.

Jessie Foister will remain the president of the board, and Kevin Cole will remain the vice president. Dean will remain the clerk of the board. Deputy clerk is Chris Kastler, and treasurer is Karen McCord.

The board set the date and place of meetings as follows: Aug. 13 and Sept. 10 at the district office, Oct. 8 at Edna Grade School, Nov. 12 at Mound Valley Grade School, Dec. 10 at Labette County High School, Jan. 14 at Altamont Grade School, Feb. 11 at the district office, March 18 at Bartlett Grade School, April 8 at Meadow View Grade School, May 14 and June 10 at the district office. All of the meetings will begin at 7 p.m.

The board hired Kayla Angleton as an Edna Grade School paraprofessional, Angeleah Regis as Altamont Grade School custodian and Mary Rodie as Bartlett Grade School custodian.

The board approved the resignation of Jordon O’Brien, LCHS science instructor.

Tony Blackwell and Alicia Hill were designated as public information officers and custodians of records.

Other general business conducted can be viewed on the meeting minutes once posted on the district website.

Recommended for you