The deadline to register to vote for the Aug. 6 primary election in Parsons will be close of business Tuesday, July 16.

The primary will be for the Parsons City Commission race only. No other races in Labette County had enough candidates to warrant a primary.

The Aug. 6 primary in Parsons will eliminate four of the 10 candidates and place the remaining six names on the Nov. 5 general election ballot.

Candidates are Kevin Cruse, Jonna Gabbert, Verlyn Bolinger, Ryan Robertson, Eric Strait, Sontana Johnson, Brady Magner, Leland Crooks, Jeffrey Stammer and Braden Lett.

The official deadline to register to vote is 5 p.m. Tuesday, July 16. The county clerk’s office will accept postmarks of July 16 if the registration is mailed. 

Registered voters may need to re-register for any number of reasons. The most common reasons are moving from the address where he or she is registered and changing names.

Questions about your registration may be answered by calling the county clerk’s office at 421-5255.

On July 17, advanced ballots will be sent to those who have applied. That is also the first day of early voting at the clerk’s office in Oswego. Early voting is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays. Bring a photo ID to vote.

Recommended for you