With 10 days left before the filing deadline, the Parsons City Commission race had no candidates as of Friday afternoon.

The terms of Commissioners Kevin Cruse, Peter Cook and Bill Hogelin, who is serving as mayor this year, will expire in January. Only one has plans to seek re-election.

Cruse said on Friday he had retrieved the paperwork from the Labette County Courthouse to file but hadn’t had time to return to Oswego to complete the filing process. The deadline is noon June 3.

Cook said earlier this month he will not run for re-election as he is trying to simplify his life. Hogelin had said in the past he planned for this to be his last term, but on Friday he said he possibly could change his mind.

“The door is still open just a crack,” Hogelin said.

The commissioner first elected in 2011 said the city seems to be moving in the right direction with new developments such as a Holiday Inn Express and conference center, Domino’s Pizza and Scooter’s Coffee, and there are plenty of jobs to be had. He said he’s enjoyed his time on the commission and it’s been eye-opening to see how local government runs.

“It’s just that I felt that it’s time for someone else to take over,” Hogelin said.

Hogelin hopes plenty of other people will file for the race before the deadline, but if not, he may run again.

Parsons City Commission candidates must file at the courthouse in Oswego and pay a $20 filing fee along with a $50 governmental ethics disclosure fee to the state. The election will be on Nov. 5, and the winning candidates will take office in January. The two commissioners receiving the most votes will earn four-year terms, with the candidate taking third getting a two-year term.

Commissioners are paid $3,000 per year, with the mayor getting an extra $600. The two commissioners earning four-year terms ultimately serve as mayor for a year. The commissioners also get health insurance, with the city paying all of the premium.

While no one has entered the race for the Parsons City Commission, there are plenty of candidates who have filed for other positions in the county, but very few have a full slate.

Incumbent David Winchell of Parsons has filed for re-election to the Labette Community College Board of Trustees, and Laurie Lewis of Parsons has filed as a challenger to one of the three expiring terms. Montie Taylor and Mike Howerter are the other incumbents.

For the Parsons USD 503 Board of Education, incumbents Michael Kastle and Louis Martino are the only candidates so far for four open positions. David Ray and Joan Thompson’s terms also are expiring.

In Chetopa, Charles Archer, Robert Kirkwood and Council Member Gary Bryant have filed for mayor. Mayor Terry Robison hasn’t filed yet. Incumbents Geraldine Castle and Linda Seaman filed for the council along with Virginia Davis, Sandra Fleming and Scherrill McConnell. Juanita Kepner hasn’t filed for re-election.

Oswego Council Member Darry Tynan has filed for the Oswego mayor race, while incumbent Bill Cunningham has not. Justin McKee and incumbent Brandy Grassl have filed for the council, and incumbent John Davis has not.

Incumbents Craig Carnahan and Benjamin Cochran have filed for the Altamont City Council election, but incumbent Raymond Coffey hasn’t filed yet.

No one has filed for Bartlett mayor or City Council. Incumbents are Mayor Doug Ramey and Council Members Anthony Allison, Rodney Cunningham, Cheryl Hanigan, David Lay and Joe Ramey.

For Edna, Mayor Sam Vail has filed for re-election, and Jim Stallings has filed for re-election to the council. Incumbent Denzil Smith hasn’t filed.

Labette Mayor John Collins has filed for re-election as has Council Member Cruz Smith. Incumbents Shannon Evans, Doris Haney, James Smith and Karen Smith haven’t.

Linda Killman, Jay Etter and Steve Cleaveland filed for the Mound Valley City Council race, while incumbents Jennifer Palmer, Eli Herrington and Alex Ybarra have not.

Tina Dinnsen and Nikki Lewis filed for re-election to the Oswego USD 504 school board while Brenda Charles and Steven Charles have not.

Julia Nash is seeking re-election as District 2, Member 2 on the Chetopa-St. Paul USD 505 board while incumbents Angie Conard (District 1), Rocky Billings (District 2), Jeffrey Corn (District 3) and Michael McCracken (at large) have not filed.

Dr. Kolette Smith filed for re-election to her Labette County USD 506 districtwide Position 7 seat, and Kevin Cole filed for his District 1-Position 1 seat. Brian Harlow and Rex Hess filed for election to the District 2-Position 2 seat now filled by Gail Billman, who hasn’t filed. No one has filed for Jessie Foister’s District 3-Position 3 seat or Greg Bogner’s District 1-Position 4 seat.

Jeff Bohnenblust is seeking re-election to the Wildcat Extension Board. Incumbent Janet Phillips hasn’t filed for the other at-large position in the county.

Recommended for you