OSWEGO — The Oswego USD 504 Board of Education this week approved the continuation of the Families First Coronavirus Response Act.

“Officially, FFCRA expired as of Dec. 31, 2020, however the administration and board felt like it was important to continue to support our teachers and staff through the end of the current school year,” Superintendent Douglas Beisel said. 

Districts in Southeast Kansas have been willing to cover the cost of supporting the FFCRA through the end of the year, funding the costs from their own budgets.

“The FFCRA allows for employees to receive up to two weeks (80 hours) of pay while under an official quarantine by the federal, state or county in which they reside,” Beisel said. “In addition, employees who are required to stay home with their son or daughter under the age of 18 due to an official quarantine will receive 2/3 of their regular pay rate, up to $200 per day or up to $2,000 in a two-week period.”    

In other matters, the board approved the Geneva Elizabeth Canfield Zilliox Memorial Scholarship guidelines and procedures. This scholarship pays $2,000 per semester and up to four years for Oswego High School graduates who plan to major in elementary education. There is a limit of two new scholarships awarded per school year.   

The board also heard Labette Bank donated $170 to the OJSHS activity fund. Area school districts participating in this program receive an annual donation based upon how many debit cards were issued with the district’s logo.

Recommended for you