Local Farmers Alliance Advantage agent

The Farmers Alliance Cos., McPherson, recently announced that Wood-Dulohery Insurance Inc., Parsons, was named a Farmers Alliance Advantage Agent for 2016.

To qualify as an advantage agent, an agency must exhibit superior professionalism and profitability over five consecutive years. Advantage agents are recognized by Farmers Alliance as the best of the best.

Farmers Alliance Cos. are represented by independent agents and serve eight states.

Lab accredited

The Accreditation Committee of the College of American Pathologists (CAP) has awarded accreditation to Labette Health Main Laboratory based on results of a recent onsite inspection as part of the CAP’s Accreditation Programs.

The laboratory’s medical director, James R. Welch, M.D., was advised of this national recognition and congratulated for the excellence of the services being provided. Labette Health Main Laboratory is one of more than 7,700 CAP-accredited facilities worldwide.

“This recognition represents a significant endorsement of our laboratory’s quality standards and services,” said Brian Williams, CEO. “The staff works very hard, as confirmed by this accreditation.”

The U.S. federal government recognizes the CAP Laboratory Accreditation Program, begun in the early 1960s, as being equal-to or more-stringent-than the government’s own inspection program.

During the CAP accreditation process, designed to ensure the highest standard of care for all laboratory patients, inspectors examine the laboratory’s records and quality control of procedures for the preceding two years. CAP inspectors also examine laboratory staff qualifications, equipment, facilities, safety program and record and overall management.

Labette Health earns AABB accreditation

Labette Health has been granted AABB accreditation for transfusion activities, according to Brian Williams, CEO.

Accreditation follows an intensive on-site assessment by specially trained AABB assessors and establishes that the level of technical and administrative performance within the facility meets or exceeds the standards set by AABB. By successfully meeting those requirements, Labette Health joins similar facilities located throughout the United States and around the world that also have earned AABB accreditation.

“The AABB’s accreditation procedures are voluntary,” Williams explained. “Labette Health has sought AABB accreditation because this program assists facilities around the world in achieving excellence by promoting a level of professional and technical expertise that contributes to quality performance and patient safety.”

AABB’s accreditation program contributes to the quality and safety of collecting, processing, testing, distributing and administering blood and cellular therapy products. The accreditation program assesses the quality and operational systems in place within a facility. The basis for assessment is compliance with AABB standards, Code of Federal Regulations and other federal guidance documents.

Hospital recognized for OB care

In an effort to help prospective parents find hospitals that deliver quality, affordable maternity care, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas announced the first hospitals in its 103-county service area to receive the Blue Distinction Center or Blue Distinction Center+ for Maternity Care designations under the national Blue Distinction Specialty Care program. Labette Health was one of the 16 named.

Blue Distinction Centers and Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care, an expansion of the national Blue Distinction Specialty Care program, are hospitals recognized for delivering quality specialty care safely and effectively, based on objective measures developed with input from the medical community. To receive a Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care designation, a hospital must meet the same quality criteria as Blue Distinction Centers while also meeting requirements for cost efficiency. Hospitals were assessed using a combination of publicly available quality information and cost measures derived from Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies’ medical claims.

Earning recognition as a Blue Distinction Center for Maternity Care is Saint Luke’s Cushing Hospital, Leavenworth.

Hospitals being recognized as a Blue Distinction Center+ for Maternity Care are Great Bend Regional Hospital; Hays Medical Center; Hutchinson Regional Medical Center; Labette Health, Parsons; McPherson Hospital; Newton Medical Center; Ransom Memorial Hospital, Ottawa; Salina Regional Health Center; South Central Kansas Regional Medical Center, Arkansas City; Southwest Medical Center, Liberal; Stormont-Vail HealthCare, Topeka; Via Christi Hospital, Manhattan; Via Christi Hospital, Pittsburg; Via Christi Hospitals, Wichita; and Wesley Medical Center, Wichita.

Nearly 4 million babies are born in the U.S. annually, making childbirth the most common cause of hospitalization. This new maternity care program evaluates hospitals on several quality measures, including the percentage of newborns that fall into the category of early elective delivery, an ongoing concern in the medical community. Compared with babies born 39 weeks or later, early term infants face higher risks of infant death and respiratory ailments such as respiratory distress syndrome, pneumonia, and respiratory failure, among other conditions. These babies also have a higher rate of admission to neonatal intensive care units.

In addition, hospitals that receive a Blue Distinction Center for Maternity Care designation agreed to meet requirements that align with principles that support evidence-based practices of care, as well as having initiated programs to promote successful breastfeeding, as described in the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative by Baby-Friendly USA or the Mother-Friendly Hospital program by the Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) through its “Ten Steps of Mother-Friendly Care.” The program also evaluates hospitals on overall patient satisfaction, including a willingness to recommend the hospital to others.

Recommended for you